Statement of Our Mission

We, the Roman Catholic people of the Diocese of Salina, a community of faith united with our bishop, are called to live out the mission of Jesus Christ. Through Baptism we are given the grace of God’s salvation and the individual and collective responsibility to continue Christ’s mission of advancing the Kingdom of God in the human family. We share our living faith by proclaiming the Gospel in word, worship, and service. Therefore, we dedicate ourselves as a church to be ministers of the Word of God and to extend our heritage of faith, not only among the communities of northwest and north-central Kansas but among all the peoples of the world.


The Catholic Diocese of Salina, formerly the Catholic Diocese of Concordia, was established on August 2, 1887.  It was moved from Concordia to Salina on December 23, 1944.  The counties included in this diocese are Cheyenne, Sherman, Wallace, Logan, Thomas, Rawlins, Decatur, Sheridan, Gove, Trego, Graham, Norton, Phillips, Rooks, Ellis, Russell, Osborne, Smith, Jewel, Mitchell, Lincoln, Ellsworth, Saline, Ottawa, Cloud, Republic, Washington, Clay, Dickinson, Geary, and Riley.  It covers 26,685 square miles and has a Catholic population of 40,546.

The Bishops of the Diocese Salina

The Most Reverend Richard Scannell1887-1891
The Most Reverend John J. Hennessy (Apostolic Administrator)1891-1898
The Most Reverend John F. Cunningham1898-1919
The Most Reverend Francis J. Tief1920-1938
The Most Reverend Francis A. Thill1938-1957
he Most Reverend Frederick W. Freking1957-1964
The Most Reverend Cyril J. Vogel1965-1979
The Most Reverend Daniel W. Kucera1980-1983
The Most Reverend George K. Fitzsimons1984-2004
The Most Reverend Paul S. Coakley2004-2011
The Most Reverend Edward J. Weisenburger2011- 2017
The Most Reverend Gerald L. Vincke2018 – Present

Our Coat of Arms

See our Coat of Arms and learn about the Heraldic symbolism behind it.

View Coat of Arms